The Day of the Dino

While we wait for the votes to be counted, I spent some time with Evan. I asked my usual question, “What’s on your mind today?”

“I’m starting a new holiday. It’s called Day of the Dino. I have a banner for it hanging on the front door. You build yourself a cave for it, and you eat special foods. There’s a Day of the Dino bread, with a bone on the top made out of sugar, and a Day of the Dino cupcake, with a lava flow of chocolate inside. You hide out inside your cave, play games with your family, eat your special foods, and get dinosaur toys. It’s a great holiday and I hope everybody joins in, all over the world.”

Looking into his face, I wish for more holidays and a politics of kindness, imagination, ingenuity and sharing of toys.

Update: I just heard that 1200 Portlanders are currently attending a Count Every Vote rally in the dark. Bless them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.