TMBKLYN

By TMBKLYN

Grab Your Coat...Don't Forget Your Hat!

I am an avid reader and I become fully immersed in the books I am reading to the point of madness. I begin to use the same turn of phrase the characters might...I begin to want to dress in a similar style. I just finished reading Rules of Civility, which takes place in the late 1930s and am now reading The Paris Wife, written in the voice of Hemingway's first wife, during the 1920s.

As I was coming out of the subway earlier today, the R line Court Street stop which lets you out on Montague Street in Brooklyn. Imagine my surprise to find this dapper gentleman riding the elevator with me. If not for the modern elevator I would have thought I had stepped back in time. Perhaps he and I have been reading the same books! He looked dashing...made me wish I'd worn my t-strap heels and a suit by Christine Alcalay whose designs harken back to 1930s and 40s. Think Katherine Hepburn...Bette Davis. I wish I'd thought to ask him where he was headed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.