"Binnan gonnan dunnit".

BAD time of year, of course; for reasons which will become apparent as Christmas approaches.
: ¬ (
Some time ago Alice & I got Solar Panels. In those days there wasn't quite the same sophisticated degree of control.
As near as I could make out all we generated was fed into the grid while all we used was taken from the grid. We were paid "an estimate" of our export(s)  and I had to read the meter quarterly and email the readings.

Today I completed the next step - a Battery. So damn heavy I could lift one side - enough to convince me NOT to try to lift it ALL.
I can now sit here and witness what's going on courtesy of a Mk ll smart meter.
Obviously, after dark in what passes for winter will not give a good idea of it but it seems to work thusly:-
At the top right there's a "thingy", Labelled "Socialenergy" which appears to be tending toward intelligent, and represented by the "SE" in extra. The dotted lines are animated, so that I can tell where the electrickery is travelling to/from. Here it was travelling from the grid to the house. How else with an, as yet, flat battery & in the dark?
Expect another, 1 or 3 in the future, in broad daylight.
;¬)

Addendum:-
I've just had a peep, with the heater on.
House is using 1972W
Grid is supplying 934W
The battery, which I was told was part charged, is supplying the rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.