One life to live

By otornblom

Statue of Liberty

Today I had an appointment to an ear doctor. It was my control visit for the sudden deafness I faced last August to my right ear. It may cure or it may not. Sudden deafness seems to be very mystical disease. Tinnitus I hate the most. The doctor said that it may go away or it may not. Anyway it should become more tolerable.

From the doctor's appointment I walked to the library and on the way I passed Tampere's own Statue of Liberty in Hämeenpuisto. The statue has been there since 1921 and it's made by Viktor Jansson. It is 4,5 meters high and it lies on 6,5 meters high granite stand. Statue of Liberty is monument of the Battle of Tampere, which was part of the Finnish Civil War. Our Civil War was fought in 1918 between Red and White forces. Soon after the battle of Tampere the war ended and the White forces won. People from the Red side hated the statue. Theology student Elias Simojoki, who also fought in the war, acted as the sculptor's mannequin for the statue, he was found from the gymnastics club of Helsinki University.

From the library I lent an audiobook, first time ever! It's Mika Waltari's novel Johannes Angelos - 17 CDs = 20 hours! It's about a hopeless love affair during the Fall of Constantinople. The Finnish version of the book was originally published in 1952.


Have a great weekend everyone!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.