Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

On the road

Greece's infrastructure has been improved lots with its Highways realised on the mainland for the Olympic Games of 2004. Those highways have toll pikes all over the places, around Athens more often than elsewhere and there they charge higher rates (€ 3,85). All in all the toll costs mounted up to € 130,00 for the 2600 kms I drove.
Those highways have traffic, but the toll costs do make people think twice about using them. The long distance busses do drive here, like private cars too and lorries. In Holland and on Crete there are no toll pikes on the highways, so finding them everywhere did surprise me.

The passage across the Riou Bridge towards Patras is € 13,50 and I should add that too... I should have realised it's costly as roll on roll off ferries cross the waters of the Patras Gulf still from underneath that bridge... seeing them at Antirrio I then didn't realise why!

In my blip here, cotton wools on the tarmac; it's harvest time for cotton wool in Greece's mainland heart.

backblip 13
Here backblip 12

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.