It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like . . .

Actually, it's nowhere near Christmas; and no, we do not have snow on the ground - at least not yet! But since we changed the clocks this past weekend, it's dark all the time and it is obvious that we are heading in the Christmas direction!

As a child, the Christmas tree rules were simple. My family always had a real live tree, and it would start to shed needles and become a fire hazard quickly. So the Christmas tree was only around for a few weeks in December.

As an adult with my own house, we have different rules now. I have two tiny fake trees and I keep them up all year around. Yes, isn't it grand to be an adult, and get to make the rules? I think so! I shall have a tiny bit of Christmas all year long! Hooray!

About a month or two ago, the string of lights went out on the Christmas tree in the bedroom. Since we hadn't lit the little living room Christmas tree in a while, I took the lights from IT to put on the bedroom tree.

Alas, I had not realized that the lights on the living room tree were actually imbedded into that tree, and so I ruined them unaware. I will replace them soon, poor little thing. So sorry, dark tree; I shall make amends.

But then I found a string of blue lights and I put them on the bedroom tree, and so we have lights now in time for the dark season. It's just nice to have pretty lights to turn on in the mornings and in the evenings to keep things cheery; don't you think?

The soundtrack can only be one song and it is this one: Elvis Presley and Martina McBride, with Blue Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.