Mani-Pedi

Today was gloomy and rainy and I felt very blah so it was off to the nail salon.
Every two to three weeks I visit the nail salon to get a manicure. To say that it is an experience is an understatement. There is an overabundance of nail salons in my area. I live in a relatively small town and I would say there is at least five nail salons that I know of.
Most of the local salons are owned and operated by Asians. The one I go to is run by Vietnamese. The language barrier is tough. Especially when they wear face masks to protect themselves from the vapors and dust from filing nails. It makes for some interesting 'conversations' to say the least.

I was sitting at the pedicure station and my sister was sitting across from me at at table getting a manicure. I saw the guy that was doing her nails holding his cell phone up to her ear. She was listening for quite a while and I was wondering what or who she was listening to. Then I heard her telling they guy that the school was having early dismissal and he would need to pick his daughter up early from school the next day. Then I realized..she was translating the recorded message he'd been left from his daughter's school. It must be pretty difficult to live and work someplace where you don't understand very much of what's being said.

I usually go once a month to get a pedicure although more so in the warmer months than now but I'm going on a vacation in a week so I went today. It's so relaxing to get your legs massaged and sit with your feet soaking in a little whirlpool salt bath. A little treat for yourself can go a long way to make you feel good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.