Across Kawau Bay

A week ago I went to Big Omaha Wharf for a sunrise shot. On my way there, I looked down from the ridge to Sandspit, and almost stopped for a picture of the predawn light on the estuary. Yesterday, I remembered that, and thought there should be a good sunrise shot possible from Sandspit, across Kawau Bay to Kawau Island.

So I set the alarm on my watch for an early start, even though with no grandchildren, I could score a longer sleep. Which I clearly needed, as I dozed off, and woke again 20 minutes later, with just enough time for dressing quickly, and heading off in the car. I got there in time. I reflected that 20 years ago I would happily have run there, and could still do so. Now, however, there is the not so simple matter of getting back again. I can manage 9k, but 18?

I wasn't even sure that I would be able to see the sun across the water. And there was such a lot of cloud, that even if I could, it might not be visible. Needless concerns, as it turned out.

I have chosen this view of the sun rising from behind Kawau Island, and casting a broad track of sunlight across the water of Kawau Bay. The gull flew into the frame as I was focussing; a fast shutter speed (1/500) meant there was no detail in the foreground. So a reduction in shadow, with adjustment of exposure to restore colours, was necessary. I think it repays a look in large

I had a number of photos I could have chosen, and I have put some of the others into a folder in my blipfolio.

Today was to be a quiet and restful day; until I remembered that the GST is due on Tuesday, and I had to work it out. Rain has started and is cooling the air; not unwanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.