ALL THAT'S LEFT

Earlier this week I took something back to one of our posh large supermarkets and because it was a complaint, as well as a refund, the Manager gave me a large bouquet - it would have cost £20 if I had bought it, which I’m glad I didn’t, because these three roses are all that’s left - the rest have been consigned to the compost heap!  I wish now that I had asked if I could have two hellebores that were £10 each!

We watched the programme about another supermarket on Thursday evening and it was interesting to hear that most of the flowers they use come from warm countries abroad, so it’s not surprising that when they arrive here in the UK, they don’t last that long because, of course, the climate is so very different.  Ah well, at least I got something and these three roses will hopefully give us pleasure for a few more days.

I did think this morning, when I first got up, that we were going to have a good day weather-wise, because the sun was shining through the trees outside our fence, but sadly by 9.30 it was raining and by 10.30 the rain was coming down in biblical proportions, so as Mr. HCB said, he’s not surprised if you live by a stream, brook or river, that it will overflow.  It’s now almost 5.00 p.m. and I don’t think it has let up all day and in fact, it is now dark or should I say, darker than it has been all day.  I do hate these dark, dank, dismal and dreary days so I hope that it will brighten up for tomorrow’s Remembrance Parades that will be held all over the country.

I found this quote that I like, but think I’m a bit old to do this;  however, it reminded me of this photograph that I took when visiting a Blip friend a couple of years ago - see extra.  This little girl was having great fun playing in the puddle and her mother was encouraging her - well, isn’t that what wellies are for?

“When life throws you a rainy day,
     play in the puddles.”
Pooh Bear

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.