Remember Me?

I took it in my head to go and try Preston Parkrun this morning.

This was my first time taking part in a Parkrun which is a marvelous low key 5km run. I registered yesterday morning on the Internet, printed off my identification bar code this morning and turned up in Avenham Park, Preston ready for the 9am start.

It is free to enter and the concept is simple, turn up, run, as you cross the finish line you get a bar code token with your finish position on it which is scanned together with your personal bar code and then you go home, your time is sent to you later by text, full results are available on the internet.

I met one or two people I know which made it a nice sociable morning and after I finished I was taking a few pictures of the finishing area (as a blipper would) when I spotted Ian getting his bar code scanned.

It was nice to see Ian again, he was the subject of my 365 blip last August and was probably a bit surprised to see me this morning when I turned up, took his picture and said "Remember Me?"

This mornings attempt will have to be a bench mark for future attempts as it is only the second 5k I have run, I set off too fast (as usual) faded on the second lap and then started to feel human again on the third. There is one hill on the course but you have to run it 3 times and this morning I wasn't living up to my name! :-)

Results to follow.

Update

Results just in 15/112 in 20:22. A bit disappointed not to get under 20mins (my PB - only run one other - is 18:52 - but that was flat)

You might like to have a look at Legodude's Journal, it is his 200th blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.