WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Look at me!

I can twirl and tap my feet in a dress with a long heavy train while simultaneously whirling a large scarf around! 

Don't try this at home folks. Personally I'd be bound to trip over at least one of these. Another photo in extras. This is Teresa Barbera livening up a flamenco fusion concert featuring singer Maria Montilla on our third night running at the Casa de la Cultura. "Fusion" in this case means the musicians included a pianist and a saxophonist. Teresa only danced a few numbers (in four different outfits), but she was amazing. 

I keep thinking I'm going to figure out flamenco singing, but I'm still none the wiser. It's so different from any other European music that my brain can't really make sense of it. I'm not even sure whether I like it. I think I need a "Flamenco for Dummies" crash course.

The day started bright and early with a yoga class, at Mari-Vi's physio centre. It was a gentle class, less physical than I'm used to. But given that I'm unfit and haven't done any yoga for close to two years, it's probably right for me at the moment. I enjoyed it anyway. From there it was straight into Mari-Vi's treatment room for more fierce massage. She has very strong hands and she really gets in there. It hurts at the time, but feels so much better afterwards -- I really feel it's making a difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.