An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Over the Rooftops...

I might have been out for nearly 6 hours yesterday in Bradford On Avon in temperatures similar to today, but then was it sunny (after a bit).

This morning, in that fine, very wet drizzling, swirling rain, I was numbingly cold, within minutes.

My idea was to get some people/street photos, but nobody was about - literally, the people I knew who came into town on a Saturday morning were absent, there weren't any charity stalls set up where I might have chanced a grab shot. Coffee shops had somehow, seemingly, gone out of fashion...Even the twice weekly open Market had more vendors than customers, I was hardly going to be inconspicuous.

That's why I only had 3 fixed lenses, on the DX D7000 (16mm fisheye, 35mm f1.4) and the one here, Nikkor G 85mm f1.8. Had gone to use the WC in this multi-storey carpark (not the one from last Saturday's Blip) and then I had a mini brainwave to go to the top deck, not sure why, just did, so five flights of stairs - and:

There was just one car - but a view of the Cathedral that was so high and close, I felt that I could almost touch it. So, a new vantage point for future pix; nice one.

This pic contrasts the air-ducts on the roof over the shopping precinct/store and over to the old church of St Thomas', my Blip of two days ago featured its bible. The 85 f1.8 only stops down to f16, so this was the max depth of field I could summon.

I like the symmetry and comparison between old and new. Some slight exposure lightening but colour's as it was. The bird was a nice extra. Thanks, bird!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.