An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Early Bird...(Gets the Blip)

Re-Edited & selectively tinted replacement of b&w original

Yesterday's Blip was saved by a seagull.

Today's, by this fella - who thinks he's a blue-tit with a massive milk bottle - and his mate below - just spotted another one bottom right.

It was damned cold, I never warmed up but the early morning sun dragged me out by my lenshood and on a Sunday, one is drawn to Salisbury's cathedral Spire, looking gorgeous in its hazy soft yellow.

AH! But this black & white! But it started out as polarised colour shot, with lots of depth of field (f22 - thank Jeeves for vibration 'control' - this a Tamron lens) and this shot had the birds better but the steam rising from the chimneys was better in another. The polarised blue wasn't deep, as it wasn't at the right angle from the sun and rather leave it as a pleasant little colour number, I had to make it more timeless, more 'arty' - I am, a Blipper, for camera-clicking's sake, so....

Quite a few plays with contrast. density, shadows, vignetting, then the same, probably backwards, to come up with this. I did think about a colour tint and indeed, may change this if I find one that suits. Want to see how it looks as it is, first.

Have a day of DIY, that requires the help of a friend, who has a responsible job (radiographer) a large family and commitments, so I have to (gratefully) accept his extra pair of hands when I can take it...pity it couldn't have been yesterday, when it was such a grey and useless day...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.