In season

Asparagus is a seasonal highlight for me and I'm blessed with a roadside stall near where I live. They sell big bags of freshly picked asparagus for $5. I carefully store it and it lasts me the week.

I was sad to see today that someone robbed them of 12 bags a few days ago. They have a security camera and by the chilly bin is a photo of the woman they hope to identify.

My current favourite is to grill asparagus spears on the bbq with a spray of olive oil, splash of lemon juice, and salt and pepper. I'm partial to lightly cooked asparagus with poached eggs too.

I think the last couple if days caught up with me today. I had to push on and catch up with a few things. I'm glad to finally be relaxing on the sofa.

My arrival on the sofa instantly transformed Jasper from house wrecker to angel. He's sprawled across my legs. Clearly this is where I'm meant to be. :-)

Today's gratitude: For the sound of rain on the roof.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.