Good blokes

Today i had the practical part of ny my refresher navigation course. We were using old school compasses and smart phones.

I knew my phone battery was tired but was surprised when my phone suddenly ran out of juice. "Oh well, it's getting old" I thought.

On the way home i needed to buy something in an electronics supplier. I was served by a really helpful young man on the left.

I asked him about phones knowing at some point in the near to medium future I'd need to replace mine. I mentioned what had happened and he commented that it sounded like hardware rather than the battery.

I gave it to him to look at and he calmly showed me that one side if the screen was bulging because the battery had expanded and the phone was hot. It was dangerous and stuff like burning down the house or third degree burns were likely outcomes.

We worked through various ways I could save files from the phone safely so I could transfer what I needed to new phone.

He and his colleague were so helpful and I'm impressed and grateful. It's a big job configuring a nee phone let alone nursing the old dangerous one through a few more manoeuvres.

Today's gratitude: For a good outcome to what could have been awful. I've dodged a bullet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.