Armistice Day

I've blipped part of my Granddad's WW1 certificate before. Because of the 100th anniversary of the end of WW1 I got it out to look at it.

Granddad was serving on the Western Front when the war ended. I wonder what he thought and felt?

He didn't finish his service until September 1919 but I'm not sure if he was in Europe all that time.

At 11am I took a few minutes in silence and thought of him. I looked at and handled the battered bugle I have from WW1. He took it from a dead German and brought it home.

I thought of being with Dad in Wellington last year. As I pushed his wheelchair out of the WW1 exhibition we'd just visited he turned and said "what a waste". Perhaps that's what his Dad thought too.

I think I've sorted files from my old phone and transferring to the new one. I need to turn the old one on one more time. Just like last evening I'll place it in the kitchen sink and keep an eye on it. I'll be glad when that's over.

I haven't done all my domestics but I avoided an exploding phone and I think that's more important.

Today's gratitude: For help digging out more plants this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.