Looking for an optimal feeding place

After quite a late night with S' cousins (and some partners + our daughter J), I thought that waking in time to see the sunrise would be too much of an effort. As it happened I woke almost on the dot of the time listed for sunrise, to find that there was total cloud cover, strong winds and frequent rain. 

High tide was half an hour later, meaning that the uncovering of the tidal flats was more than three hours away. Therefore, breakfast accompanied by the Guardian Prize cryptic (which I still have not finished;  as I write this two clues remain unsolved). Then some preparation for writing a report. 

Then I figured the time was right. The kuaka (Bar-tailed godwits) are back from Alaska, although as this is the first time back at Snells Beach for some weeks I hadn't seen any before today. Initially the herons were the most prolific, and I started to continue along Erceg's Way to the northern end  when some movement caught my attention, and I realised that the Kuaka were coming to me. I counted at least 60 and there may have been even more.

I carefully moved around the group so that the sun was shining on to them. They tolerated my presence, as I remained moderately still, and used the zoom on the lens rather than the muscles of my legs to get closer.

I chose the main photo over the other two as it is sharper and shows the bird more clearly; therefore a better photo. The two extras are very satisfying personally as they're the best I've managed for this bird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.