Transitoire

By Transitoire

Le What's!

Baptiste, the gorgeous man that he is. Coffee and much dicussion of things, and language, and evenings, and accents, and just great. Well worth getting out of bed for!

So my evening out, what an awesome awesome time. As usual, Laura and I ended up being a bit late to meet Steven, Becky and Claire at Café Latin for some tapas (massive plate of tapas, enough for three people, and a litre of sangria for 27 euros altogether...bargain!) but once we arrived occurred one of the strangest experiences of my time in France so far. Just as we were about to tuck into our repas a man sitting opposite us suddenly shouts Scheiße and points at us. He then asks us if we're German and whether the girls want to have sex with him. Awkward! Although very drunk, it isn't really that normal to shout things at strangers in a bar. Steven then got involved and started talking to the drunk man, who was still occasionally shouting Scheiße and pointing at us, and buying Claire a drink that she definitely didn't want (she didn't drink it either!). Fortunately the situation was more funny for us than threatening, as there were definitely more of us, and the barman had our backs! On Stephen telling the man that all us girls had boyfriends the man's response was something along the lines of "I don't care, my girlfriend dumped me today and I lost my job." Makes you feel sorry for him really...but not so sorry as not to smile secretly when the barman finally loses his temper with the man and tells him to get out. Nothing like a strange drunken man to liven up a night before it has properly started!

Pretty much as soon as the drunk man had left the birthday girl, Meg, arrived with her boyfriend and his brother...followed soon by another contingent of Frenchies: Thomas, Flavie, Thibaud and Pierre, bringing with them a secret stash of Thomas' Tequila Sunrise for the walk to Le What's (not that far away, but I guess having something to do on the way is better than nothing!) So great to see them all and catch up with how they have all been...and the mix of English language levels means that I am usually forced to speak in French, making every social gathering a learning curve!

My night = amazing. No other words for it really! As soon as we got to the nightclub I knew it would be a good night on the standard of the music upon entry. And yes, we were the only people on the dance floor...you can always tell the English and anglophiles by their presence on the dance floor before anyone else! So, in short...beautiful people, great music, great friends, just the right amount of alcohol and not getting to bed until the early hours of the morning makes for an wonderful evening. And I can only thank Laura for letting me sleep with her yet again so I didn't have to get the last tram home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.