Total Madness

SWMBO and I went out this morning and collected some photographic prints and then went to a big DIY store so that I could get a new light fitting for the bathroom.
We arrived a couple of minutes before 11am so sat in the car to observe the 2 minutes silence.
While we were doing this we saw the man in the picture arrive and start to load up.
He had several large wooden boards which he proceeded to balance on the tops of the seats without making any attempt to lower them. When he put the first one in he went and carefully placed a small bit of cloth between the end of the board and the windscreen. That was the only kind of restraint or attempts at safety he took.
He was just finishing when we left the car.
I had to go and have words with him about the foolishness of his actions.
He seemed genuinely surprised when I pointed out the dangers involved (including the danger of being stopped by the police for carrying an unsafe load) and admitted that he hadn't thought of the consequences to his car, himself or any pedestrians should those boards start moving (and they would no matter how carefully he drove).

I am sure he drove away but at least my conscience was at rest for having pointed things out to him.
I am glad to say that I didn't see him or the remains of any accident as I drove home.

Apart from putting up the light fitting it has been a very quiet and relaxing afternoon …….. watching a couple of classic old films. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.