Odd one out

Today I explored Rice Wood near Helpston, a site that I've not been to for very many years.  A public footpath runs through one corner, but in the past the rest wasn't accessible. However, there seems to have been a change of policy and now it seems to have a network of well-used footpaths throughout, which meant I visited parts I'd never seen before.

My meander was surprisingly productive in terms of plant species recorded, several of which, such as wood melick and alder buckthorn, were last seen in 1930. 

The north end of the wood has a stand of planted beech which was breathtakingly beautiful - the single silver birch seemed a little out of place but also provided an interesting contrast to the smooth grey beech trunks.

Ben had his first full day at Waitrose, which went reasonably well, though the till training was a bit stressful. Lots to remember when you've never done it before, but I'm sure it'll all soon become second nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.