With Ayat

One of my lovely friends and colleagues. I had to trek out of the city centre to see her as she was working at the weekend, but worth it to catch up.

Before that I caught up with one of my swimming buddies this morning before a short walk in Zamalek and then lunch with my former neighbour and one of his friends. Always fun.

After visiting Ayat it was back to Zamalek to meet another friend. While I was walking along 26 July, an ever so busy thoroughfare, a young guy called out. He seemed to know me. Hazem he said. He wasn’t Hazem but his brother. We tried to talk and I said I’d meet him in 10 minutes. When I did he managed to get hold of Hazem to come back to Zamalek; lots of phone passing to find someone who could speak both English and Arabic. The brothers are doing well, I think Hazem might be engaged, at the age of 20.. too young. I gave them money, can you buy me shoes too, he asked. I have a bit more cash. Times are tough there. He still wears the watch Barrioboy gave him, and remembers him fondly. Glad to see them but sorry I can’t do more..

One more catch up.. it’s 8.15om..then to the airport.. S, colleague and friend. Good to catch up on the news. He never thought he’d stay in Cairo so long.

Off to the airport at 11.30pm.. for a 3.20am flight.. and a class at 11.30am. A last minute offer of work.. who needs sleep?

A good trip back, there’ll be more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.