Touched By An Angel

You could guess, but I'm not sure you can figure it out. Clue: we went to Cupertino. 

I read that a sketch group was meeting on the campus of the new Apple headquarters, and I figured it would be a great way to see that famous round building. Unfortunately, guests are limited to the Apple store; the ring itself is impenetrable. There is a cafe, and a rooftop lounge, and people found things to draw, but I ended up going back downstairs to sit in on an editing class in Photos IOS13, a version which I hate for its method of organizing images. It actually has algorithms that pick your best photo of the day and feature it, surrounded by cropped thumbnails of a selection of other images from that day. It's possible, but difficult, to simply view your shots of the day in chronological order, the way they were taken. But I digress...

The folks in the photo are pointing iPads at a huge model of Apple headquarters; as you point at the mock-up, the screens animate to reveal images of the real thing--it's gimmicky and a little hard to explain, but a lot of people (..."visitors from all over the world!...") seemed to be entranced by scanning these buildings.

It's a futuristic cold white marble temple, full of chattering people, all walking around with shopping bags full of new gear. Although the class was very well run and full of information, we both prefer our smaller human scale Apple store. 

As for drawing, I quickly sketched a few people in the lounge, but I wasn't inspired by my surroundings. We did, however, have a very nice lunch at the Korean place in a nearby mall, and returned later for boba tea and pastry.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.