(Some Kind Of) Hawk

Another unknown bird. They never look like the illustrations in the books. It's the pattern on the back feathers that's throwing me off. I'm guessing it's a youngster of some kind. It had a very distinctive repetitive call, and somewhere in the neighborhood another bird was answering. The same bird is in the Extras, giving me the stink eye before it flew away. I'm going to guess a young Cooper's Hawk. I just looked at the references again and it's close...

I was hoping it scared off the smaller birds who are ravaging the garden, but no such luck. Everything I planted, whether from seed or starts, has been nibbled to within an inch of it's little green life. I've never been so discouraged about a garden. We've also got a lot of damage from squirrels. They go for the potted plants and pull out whatever I've tucked in to brighten the arrangements. Just yank them out for no reason I can figure. 

We had another cold night. I finally got out the flannel sheets and the electric mattress pad. Looking forward to toasty feet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.