My Mum And Dad.

As it's Remembrance Day, I thought I'd post some photos of my Mum and Dad, taken at the beginning of the war.

The both joined the London Fire Brigade at the outbreak of war, as they were too young to join the forces.  My Dad eventually went into the RAF, but my Mum stayed in the Fire service.  I'm not sure when she left, maybe after she got married and had my sister.

My Dad was a dispatch rider for the Fire service, and at one stage got a back full of shrapnel when a bomb went off.

 My Dad never got injured when he was in the RAF.  Considering some of the places he went, India, Burma, Japan, he was very lucky.

But some of the sights he saw must've been truly devastating.  He wouldn't talk about them even to my mother.

Unfortunately, for him he was one of the first service personnel to go into Nagasaki after the bomb was dropped.  Without any protective clothing, he was lucky to live until he was 56.

He then died of lung cancer, but a kind the doctors said they'd never seen before.  So, effectively he was killed by the war, just not at the time.

There are lots of people out there like my Mum and Dad, who quietly got on with their lives after the war, with very little help.

They are the quiet heroes who deserve to be remembered too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.