Veteran's Day - 2019

Dear Diary,

Today we remember all those who have served our country and this includes three generations of Sullivan men, my dad, my brother, and his two sons.  My nephew, Michael, second from the right, is currently a Colonel in the Army although I hope he will be retiring next year after nearly 30 years of military service.  I include three poppies as well.  The red for those who have died in service to their country, the white for prayers for peace in the world and the purple for all those non-human combatants who, although they did not know why they were there, gave the last full measure of devotion.  Few people know the millions of horses, mules, donkeys, dogs and carrier pigeons who died during World War I and II not to mention the horrendous Civil War.  Today, I thank them all for their service and sacrifice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.