MONO MONDAY - PROFILE

I’m not a “clean freak” or a dedicated house work person - there are always far more interesting things to do, although, bless her, my late Mother-in-Law always told me I should “get a little routine”, but last week I did “flick” the duster around in our downstairs loo and what a good job I did, because I saw this porcelain phrenology head that was given to me by a doctor friend some years ago.

When deciding what I would do for Mono Monday with the theme “Profile”, of course, I immediately thought of my super model, Mr. HCB, but decided that it would probably be best not to trouble him this morning, but leave him pottering in the garden.  I then remembered this phrenology head and it seemed a good substitute for Mr. HCB - no offence meant, of course!

However, at 10.50 a.m. Mr. HCB came in and said it might be a good idea to make a cup of coffee so that we could stand together for the two minute silence at 11.00 a.m.  At 10.58, with the coffee made, we took our positions side by side in the conservatory, when the front door bell rang.  I ran out to see our next door neighbour, Lynn, on the doorstep, so told her we were about to stand for the two minute silence, and she was welcome to join us - so she did.  It was quite moving just standing there together and remembering that on the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month in 1918 the guns of Europe fell silent, so it is 100 years since the first Remembrance Day was conducted.

Anyway, back to my “Profile” Blip - I knew this was a phrenology head, but wasn’t quite sure what that was - so of course, Googled it and discovered this:

“Phrenology was a popular 19th century theory that linked bumps on a person's head to certain aspects of the individual's personality and character.”

I’m sure after almost 7 years of consistent Blipping, there must be a “bump” in my skull that represents Blip - so for today, I made sure that Blip was included and suppose I could use almost the same quote as Thomas A. Edison!

“I never knew I had an inventive talent 
     until Phrenology told me so. 
I was a stranger to myself until then!”
Thomas A. Edison

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.