A SUNNY AUTUMNAL MORNING

As I was due to meet a friend in town, I asked Mr. HCB to drop me off near Queen’s Park, one of our beautiful town centre parks, because I realised I hadn’t taken many autumnal shots and it would be a good opportunity to do so today.  I was surprised when I got out of the car just how cold it was - in fact, it was more than cold, it was bitter!  

A lady walking past remarked that the trees were beautiful, so I told her that I had been visiting this particular park since my boys were young almost fifty years ago, because we used to live nearby and I had taken many photographs of the trees in all the different seasons - that made me feel old!

I wandered around and saw several people feeding the ducks, so I just got on and took my photographs, but horror of horrors, when I was round the other side of the park, I realised that my phone battery was only showing 5% charge - so it hadn’t charged properly overnight.  I knew that one of my cables was a bit dodgy, but hadn’t checked it this morning and of course, I hadn’t brought my “proper” camera and nor had I brought a pair of fingerless gloves - silly me!

I hurriedly sent a text to my friend to tell her I had an “almost dead” phone and carried on my way.  It’s amazing how much we rely on our phones, so I made up my mind not to fret about it.  When I passed the Vodafone shop, I wondered if they would be able to charge my phone and thankfully they did.

By the time I met my friend and we had had coffee and put the world to rights, sadly it was raining, but I was pleased that I had got my autumnal shots and had enjoyed the morning sunshine and the blue sky.  This quote says all that I felt this morning.

“I was drinking in the surroundings: 
     air so crisp you could snap it with your fingers 
          and greens in every lush shade imaginable 
offset by autumnal flashes 
     of red and yellow.” 
Wendy Delsol : Stork

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.