a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The right profile

Mono Monday: Profile

Say, where did I see this guy?
In "Red River"?
Or a "Place In The Sun"?
Maybe "The Misfits"?
Or "From Here To Eternity"?


And everybody say, "Is he all right?"
And everybody say, "What's he like?"
And everybody say, "He sure looks funny"
That's Montgomery Clift, honey


New York, New York, 42nd Street
Hustlers rustle and pimps pimp the beat
Monty Clift is recognized at dawn
He ain't got no shoes and his clothes are torn


And everybody say, "Is he all right?"
And everybody say, "What's he like?"
And everybody say, "He sure look funny"
That's that Montgomery Clift, honey


I see a car smashed at night
Cut the applause and dim the light
Monty's face is broken on a wheel
Is he alive? Can he still feel?


And everybody say, "Is he all right?"
And everybody say, "Shine a light"
And everybody say, "It's not funny"
That's Montgomery Clift, honey


Shoot his right profile


And everybody say, "Is he all right?"
And everybody say, "What's he like?"
And everybody say, "He sure look funny"
That's Montgomery Clift, honey


Nembutol numbs it all
But I prefer alcohol


And everybody say, "What's he like?"
And everybody say, "Is he all right?"
And everybody say, "He sure look funny"
That's Montgomery Clift, honey!


He said go out and get me my old movie stills
Go out and get me another roll of pills
There I go again shaking, but I ain't got the chills


And everybody say, "What's he like?"
And everybody say, "Is he all right?"
And everybody say, "He sure looks funny"
I was trapped, Montgomery Clift, honey

The Clash ~ The Right Profile

The lyrics are from the Clash's song about Montgomery Clift whose slow decline through drugs and alcohol was once called the longest suicide in history.  

40 years ago, back in 1979, I can still remember the excitement during my second year at University when it became apparent from reading the NME that the Clash's new album was going to be released just before Christmas. The rumours were that it would be a double album, but priced the same as a single album.  Why?  Because, well they were the Clash and they didn't want to take advantage of their fan base.  

My friends at the time and I were big clash fans.  We agreed that we were all going to go and buy it the day it was released.  As it turned out, we'd also all be going to see the band on their 16 Tons Tour at the Birmingham Locarno in February after the Christmas holiday.  Happy days, so long ago now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.