What do you do with a £1.50 LIDL vegetable box?

With only eight portions of home-made soup in the freezer, as well as a couple of litres of chicken stock to use up, this morning I bought a LIDL vegetable box.

Based on its contents, this afternoon I made 50 portions of soup in three varieties: (1) 'dark green' - mainly lettuce and peas; (2) 'light green' - broccoli; (3) 'red' - radishes, beetroot, peppers, tomato and basil. We used up some other vegetables in the chicken stew that I made for dinner this evening.  Later this week the fresh corn on the cob will be served with a tuna pasta bake, and the celery will form the base of a vegetable stroganoff. (Sensibly, we will not be eating the bunch of flowers...)

I'm proud that the £1.50 that I paid for the box will go a long way (without any waste). It's also been fun devising our menu for the week around the contents of the box.

Exercise today: none apart from a little bit of walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.