Kilmainham Gaol

The Dangerous Book Group continued its tour of Dublin's tourist highlights with a visit to Kilmainham Gaol this morning, and the Museum of Decorative Arts and History this afternoon, with lunch in between.

The first visit was very interesting, even though the subject matter of the guided tour, which focussed on the treatment (and execution) of political prisoners, was rather sombre.

We split up at the museum. I focused my attention on a display of favourite objects selected by the curators. When I rejoined the others I discovered that I had missed a display about mother and baby homes and the Magdalene Laundries. This was probably just as well given the grim subject matter of the morning (and yesterday's bog bodies too).

I'm posting my blip at the airport as we wait for notification of the gate for our flight home.

Exercise today: walking (15,293 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.