Poppy Day

Even the 'butcher' in Sheringham gets dressed up and supports Poppy Day. On this day I remember several people including my grandmother's two brothers who died two months apart in 1941, one a Pilot Officer and the other a Leading Seaman who died when his submarine sank. I got the information on their deaths from the Commonwealth War Graves Commission website. Neither has a grave, but the website shows the memorials for the RAF and Navy where their names are recorded. I would recommend having a look on this website if someone in your family died whilst serving in the forces during the war. I cannot begin to imagine the pain for parents losing their two sons through war only a couple of months apart.

I was in Sheringham to visit the hygienist at the dental practice, not my favourite appointment. This afternoon A and I went for a lovely walk to the Country Park and Lowes. We both wore wellies as it was very wet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.