Kipsie

By Kipsie

I might look silly

stood in the kitchen peeling pickling  onions with these gloves on but I don't want  the apple pie pastry tasting savoury, my next job after these. I wear them for some of my gardening jobs as well now, they are really strong but quite fine so don't feel all fingers & thumbs, if you know what I mean.
Ben & Sopha were popping in this morning to say goodbye, this time definitely heading back to London. Sopha has left me with yet more freshly ground chillli flakes, dried whole chillies, roasted & ground sticky rice, used for making Larb Moo, a spicy minced pork salad. I know ... Moo, you're thinking cow/beef, but in fact moo is pig/pork in the Thai language, AND 2 sets of Thai spices & herbs for making noodle soup. I have enough to last me until their next visit for sure, which will be sometime next year. They fly back to Bangers on the 20th Nov. I bought Sopha some bath bombs in Sanders Garden Centre yesterday, a mix of smellies, coconut, apple, lavender, .. I gave up smelling them and just picked up a nice combination of colours. I nipped up to the Coop for some bits before they arrived, I picked up a couple of good firm Brazilian mangoes for Sopha. They don't look or taste anything like the myriad varieties of Thai mango so I hope she enjoys them. She prefers to eat them when unripe with a salt, sugar, chilli dry dip. Weird lot the Thais!!!

I made a roast for dinner, rang Mum & invited her up to eat with us. Hubby picked her after she'd walked Indie. The apple, hazelnut & honey  pie using the filo pastry from the freezer, should have been a strudel but the pastry sheets fell into pieces. Never mind, it tasted good with a generous dollop of extra think double cream.

Thanks to admirer for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.