Re-evaluation

Yesterday’s blip showed Härnösand in its November mood. I thought it a picture of cold and damp and the raw air but several people commented how lovely the town looked.  I looked back at my picture again - it DOES look lovely; it IS lovely. “I do live in a nice place” is a sort of mantra I often write, and it is true.
Today it was even damper, with mist twisting through the trees and total murk overhead. Water  drops gathered along  the branches.  But it still looks lovely!!  I took this picture on our morning walk. We knew it was going to rain later in the day (It’s raining now!) so we got outside earlier than usual.  Lovely it may be but Thomas Hood’s poem is still totally relevant…

November
No sun - no moon!
No morn - no noon -
No dawn - no dusk - no proper time of day.
No warmth, no cheerfulness, no healthful ease,
No comfortable feel in any member -
No shade, no shine, no butterflies, no bees,
No fruits, no flowers, no leaves, no birds! -
November!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.