River - Sea???

On my way home from Kramfors with the dented car I noticed the bridge, and the reflections on the still water, and thought of Blipfoto.
I turned off the main road and followed a back road down to a rather dilapidated ship repair dock. The heyday of this area, industrially speaking, was 50 to 150 years ago and I suspect the facilities here are from that time. The dock contained one fishing boat. On the side were three large guys taking a smoking break and speaking Finnish. It might have made a good photo but they didn’t look too friendly and maybe they thought I was a suspicious character too, suddenly arriving in the dusk and taking pictures. Perhaps they thought I was from the tax authorities!!
So I confined my pictures to the estuary and the High Coast Bridge. This weather drains the colour but it  is still rather beautiful, especially on such a still day.
The Ångerman river widens out here where it flows into the sea. In fact the boundary between river and sea is unclear here, especially because there is no tide. The water is much wider here than in the river proper. Google maps reckons this is the sea (the Gulf of Bothnia) and I guess they are following the official line.
When the fishing boat is fixed it will head off under that bridge and out to the open sea. The dock had a lot of 10 cm thick bits of ice floating about but it will probably be several weeks before the river/sea really freezes over, trapping any boat left in the dock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.