Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Honey Eater

This beautiful little New Holland Honeyeater was just about to tuck into the sweetest Waratah of all.  They are just full of delicious nectar at this stage and it’s one of the reasons I’m reticent to pick them.

We have been on fire alert right across the state of NSW today and I decided to stay home to keep an eye on things.  They wind was very strong and quite unsettling in the mountains but fortunately apart from a small fire at Katoomba that was quickly dealt with we have not had any major fires break out at this stage.

When you live in Australia and particularly when you live near bush land it’s a hazard that exists all year round.   You have to make the call as to whether you want to live in suburbia or live with nature.  Having made the decision you can’t let you life be defined by the risks that exist.  Tonight as I sat with my camera and watched the multitude of birds enjoying their late afternoon spa in the bird bowls I decided that without a doubt I know where I want to live. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.