Ho Hum Diddly Dum......

The only photo I took today as I was very busy at work. I had planned to stop by the pond this afternoon on my way home but......   Driving home I saw this over the road truck, pulling a pup with the liftgate only a few inches from the ground. All it would have taken was a good bump and that 200 plus pound liftgate could have broken off and caused no only a wreck but possible loss of life. The driver wasn't paying attention to me flashing the high beams so time to get drastic. Double nickle plus 30, horn a blazing, cut him off intentionally, put on my four ways and that got his attention. Of course I pulled over when he did just so he knew what was wrong. I was glad he recognized my companies shirt and knew I was a driver too. He gave the standard "oops" and then we shot the breeze for 15 minutes, near the fog line with traffic doing double nickle plus 10 by us... Good Deed done for the day... This got me thinking about the mistakes I have made over the years... one of them that happened 20 years ago or so.. 

It was a dark stormy night A crisp cool late night drive headed deep into California. The chicken house was open so I dimmed my lights, slowed down and was prepared to stop in case they red lighted me for a paperwork check or something else.

 As my steer tires rolled onto the scale, two highway patrol officers in their cars pulled in behind me, by this time my drives were on the scale, I still had a green light but I saw a few officers running at a high rate of doughnut consumption. Still not thinking of it to much until I got safely passed the building and into the open. Disco lights lit up the entire town it seemed. Even before I could set my brakes, an officer was door side wondering what was in the trailer. 44,000 pounds of pancake mix. It was at this time I was told that my trailer rear axle was on fire.

Well a few moments after that, the fire department showed up and reminded all of us that flour in a fine powder can be explosive so please stand back. They then hit that axle with two fire hoses full of chemicals as water won't normally put out a grease fire. I was at that chicken house a good 12 hours while that axle was fixed... at least we had a warm fire and pancakes to pass the time.


Watching the birds and blips go by, hoping tomorrow is a nice and quiet day in paradise.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.