Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

1934 Ford truck chassis model in S scale

Started today building the 1934 Ford truck chassis for the Conoco Plant.  These are the parts for the frame, engine, cab, and wheels.  Amazingly complete and TINY.  I usually wash a metal model kit's parts first to remove the mold release agent and crud.  That way the ACC glue seems to work better for me, and since I wear nitrate gloves to assembly it, I can go right to the spray booth and paint it since it will be clean.  The plastic bag is the rest of the small parts - super detailed and small.  I was afraid I would lose them in the sink so when I come to glueing them on, I will wipe them off with alcohol to remove the gunk.

All in all an amazing kit from PBL - the folks that make all the Sn3 locomotives and freight cars.  Dumb luck, but this truck is a dead ringer for the real one in photos, and Raggs made an add-on kit with the fuel tank etc.   That is phase two.   If I don't blow my brains out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.