Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Conoco Oil Company warehouse complete

Today I finished up the building and scenery around the Conoco warehouse at Dolores on the Sn3 layout.  I am painting many 55 gallon drums and a couple of figures and details yet to be added.  I also have a 1950 Oldsmobile for the manager to park outside the office.  It needs a little weathering and a 1950 Colorado license plate.  A steal on EBay.  really a perfect 1/64th model and very inexpensive.  

After the details are added, I have one more project for Conoco. I have a model of a Ford truck with an add-on from Raggs for the fuel talk and gas cans that go on the back.  Many small parts but the real one is in the few (3) photos that seem to exist of the plant.  So we need to get that one done.

The ponderosa trees are thanks to the McKenzey Brothers Tree Company.  Take a look at http://www.mckenziebrotherstimberco.com.  They make the best pine trees (and aspens) period. I have their machine and made the firs for the other side of the layout, but I wanted ponderosa for this scene so bought some from them.  I can't make them this good.  Fantastic.

A fun project start to finish.  The model is super accurate to ht was there.    Off to paint some barrels.

The extra is a shot down on the tanks to show the scale plumbing.  The piping and walkway were delicate and I only broke the piping three times.  Fortunately ACC glue works wonders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.