But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Sparrow hawk.

The porage was just going through its final stages of simmering and my brain was focused on making the coffee when, out of the corner of my eye, I saw the strike. It appeared that the force of the blow was enough to either kill or stun the pigeon. There are times when priorities come into play, so I finished making the coffee and then ran to fetch camera and lens and then ran back to the kitchen. The first shot was in HDR as that was what I was doing last night; that is the first extra. I settled for just a single exposure as there was a tiny bit of movement in the bird's head causing ghosting. I’d reset the camera and blasted off a total of twenty shots when Jnr drove into the drive - back from buying some Lego, it’s part of the money-making scheme that he's used since the law changed and stopped him taking the bookies for a ride. It wasn’t til he got out of the car that the hawk took flight – effortlessly - carrying the pigeon. So the hawk was a female – I wonder if there is another way to sex them at a range of about 30 feet?
Extras include a few feathers, especially for KayBee.
 
Now, I really must clean the kitchen window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.