But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

250 kg of Sugar.

I had an urgent email yesterday asking me if I could go and collect 250 kg of sugar. For many years I have been going around various food emporia asking if they could sell me spoilt sugar – i.e. not fit for human consumption but, “No – they couldn’t do that, ‘elf ‘n’ safety and all that kind of stuff.” On the basis that bees, like dogs, will drink out of disgustingly dirty puddles, I would not be too fussy about what I accepted provided that the cost reflected that the sugar was of no commercial value.
 
For the last couple of years, I have been cordially invited to a local commercial food distribution company to remove such material; it probably saves them from having to pay to send it to landfill. It’s simply a matter of emailing to suggest a collection time, receiving a reply several minutes later, and then turning up and asking for the gentleman concerned. I’ve never spoken to him, let alone met him, but I get sent around the back to meet a fork lift truck; I always email a thank-you to him and mention that it is distributed amongst the club members who make a donation towards the club funds in gratitude.
 
250 kg over the back wheels does make the rear end of the car droop a little, just enough to mean that the view through the internal mirror is obscured by the roof of the car, but the wing mirrors can be adjusted to compensate and there is no discernible effect on the handling.
 
Now I need to vacuum up all the spilt sugar before it displays its hydroscopic tendencies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.