But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Eye-phones at the Ready.

Today’s plan was to visit Portgordon to Blip the seals in the water. Timing is critical as, most of the time, the seals haul up onto the rocks for a lazy afternoon’s sun-bathing. Get the timing right and they get washed off the rocks and swim about in a rather disgruntled fashion between the rocks and the shore line. I got it wrong and the tide was far too high and no seals were to be seen. After just enjoying the view, I noticed a few heads popping out of the water a few hundred yards nearer the setting sun and so wandered towards them and, as I got closer, they saw me and came to meet and greet. I took quite a few pictures aided by their willing co-operation but, when I needed to take quick step back to keep my shoes dry, I was alerted by a noise and realised that I was somewhat closer to a group of well camouflaged seals on the beach than I would have liked. They accepted my apology and I moved around them to take some group pictures. We parted on good terms a little while later and, as I left. a herd of humans moved in with their Eye-phones; although quite close, they didn’t seem to be causing any disturbance so I left them to it.
 
The extra is of a common seal, though there was a grey bull seal skulking around as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.