Fairy Frost

It is really cold in Bellingham right now. This morning I looked out the window and I could see that it would be a good day for frost. So I bundled up and headed out with my 45mm macro lens on my new camera. I took all the usual frost photos and was beginning to freeze myself when I came upon something I had never seen before. I am calling it "Fairy Frost" because that is what it feels like to me. On just a few of the branches and leaves of the blackberry bushes was this amazing soft fluffy frost, totally different from what was on most of the plant. I took lots of photos. This one shows the phenomenon the best I think. This is a branch of the blackberry bush up close. You can see a couple of the thorns sticking up and one way to the right sticking down. I was so entranced with this wonderful frost. Be sure to look large "L" at this one. It will help you see the details of the little "leaves" of frost on the blackberry branch. The branch itself is about an quarter of an inch thick. You can see more photos here.

Have a wonderful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.