Are We Nuts?

You bet we are. Today it rained solidly all day long. And where were we? Out on the Skagit River in an inflatable raft looking for eagles. Definitely nuts!

It all began when I got an email from TravelZoo offering a really good discount on a rafting trip down the Skagit. We have done that before and really enjoyed it so I decided to get a six person ticket for my birthday present to myself. Not my Blip birthday. My actual birthday which is coming up in just five days. Anyhow, I invited family to come and we scheduled today's trip because the salmon are running early this year and it was probably one of the last days to see eagles.

Then the weather decided to become obstreperous. Yesterday was really miserable with high winds and heavy rain. Anybody who watched the Seahawks game yesterday knows just what I mean. Today was milder but still wet and cold. No refunds so I called everybody and only one person said, "nuh uh." We replaced her with a family friend and off we went. There were me, Arvin, Helena, brother Steve, brother Dave and a friend also named Dave. It was a long drive to get to the park where we met our guides. We were suited up and bundled up. The guides drove us up to Marblemount to take off heading back to the Steelhead Park in Rockport. There weren't very many eagles and it was really cold and wet on the river. But we had a great time. Our guide was Luke the owner of Triad River Tours based in Bellingham. We had a good time but by the time we got back we were frozen solid.

I covered my cameras and did my best to get photos. Many were blurred by raindrops on my lens filter. I couldn't decide which photo to post so I put the other ones on Chaikins of Bellingham. I chose a spot along the river where a stream enters. It looks best in large.

After the ride we went to a lovely restaurant called Washington Cafe and Bakery in Concrete that Luke recommended. They had a wonderful furnace right near our table and we all ate delicious home cooked food while we thawed out. Desert was their home baked goodies. Yum! We had a wonderful day.

Forgot to mention that we met Luke and the crew at the restaurant. As we were finishing they arrived and we spent some more happy minutes chattering together. Very nice folks indeed!

Now it is quite late and I must go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.