My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Waiting game

So, last night I tried to eat a peanut butter sandwich and, as I swallowed, got a really bad pain in my neck.
Bit weird.

This morning it was still there and still uncomfortable to swallow, I even struggled with a chocolate biscuit during Journal Club at work. So I booked an emergency appointment with the GP for 5 o'clock and had a liquid (coffee) lunch as that was easier.

Then at about 3 o'clock, after a meeting, it started to get really bad to the point where even swallowing saliva or moving my head was causing excruciating pain around my jaw and neck. Instead of the GP appointment I opted for a walk down to A&E, accompanied by the boss, where the receptionist decided to write down 'toothache' even though I said nothing of the sort...I was struggling to talk at that point I suppose.

I got streamed to Urgent Care to see an ENP (Emergency Nurse Practitioner) and just had to wait....head as still as possible, trying not to swallow too much until the ibuprofen kicked in. Gradually it eased a little until I got called in to see the doctor just before 7. She checked my ears, throat, and temporomandibular function but couldn't find anything sinister so I got told to dose up on painkillers and see the GP in the morning and get bloods done.

Not exactly a resolution but at least I could drive home.


I really do work in a good place where people care. Not only did the boss come to A&E with me but I had a visit and messages from loads of others too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.