New Spire

New for an old church, anyway.  According to Wikipedia, "The Great Storm of 1987 destroyed the church's spire, just missing a bus-stop full of school kids that had left minutes before it came down, but it was rebuilt by John Charlton, Paul Raffles and Chris Phillips of Waymans."

I've seen this spire many times when returning from work down the B1040 (a favourite road with bikers, long and wide north of this village); it has always looked rather attractive when the sun is low as it shows the unusual facets of the roof. 

I was in the village this afternoon to buy a card for my dentist (who has to have a benign tumour removed in a week or so) and I took the opportunity to dodge the traffic and capture the spire at last.  My next step will be to find time to take a sneaky drone shot . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.