The Rich and the Poor

I am of course making assumptions: that a shop on Piccadilly is owned by a wealthy person or persons, and that someone reduced to sleeping in a tent on the pavement (any pavement) is not at all wealthy.

I've walked past this shop front many times over the last 18 years, making my way to the RAF Club near Hyde Park Corner, but today was the first time that I've seen a tent on the pavement.  I was on my way home from a lunch at the Club, a gathering of fellow Jaguar pilots from my first squadron (nearly 40 years ago) during the Cold War, stationed at RAF Brüggen in Germany.

The extra is of Oxford Street, just short of Selfridge's on the way to Marble Arch; I was pleased to see the trees on the side of the road, a change for the better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.