Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Are you looking at me?

Thanks to everyone for their comments over the last couple of days, it's been very helpful to be able to share my tribulations and receive so much encouragement. I don't intend to take things lying down....well obviously I will in a literal sense, horizontal being my normal attitude, but I shall endeavour to fight back and, at the very least, go down fighting.
Today I thought a change of subject was called for so here is another episode in what might be described as "The Many Moods of ASBO" . Today was a sluggish sort of thing with low energy levels all round and little incentive to venture out of doors. Even the animals felt this way with: Jake (the dog) grumbling every time he had to move from his curled up position, equidistant from me and the radiator; Elphaba lying snug on a beanbag and even while snoring managing to maintain that level of style and dignity that has earned her a reputation as the Audrey Hepburn of cats; and finally (Tilly being absent yet again) Amelia, or rather ASBO as she is more commonly known (Anti-Social Behaviour Orderfor any non Brits reading this) lying on the cat gym in a warm shaft of afternoon sun, trying to watch for prey through the garden door and failing to stay awake.
At some level the click of my shutter must have penetrated through the afternoon nap treacle of her brain resulting in the semi conscious look of disdain mixed with threat that I've captured. A second later and sleep reclaimed her. If I had any sense I would have backed off at this point like any sane wildlife photographer who knows the mighty big cat is alert to his presence, but instead, recklessly hazarding my life, or at least my unscratched, ungnawed skin, in the cause of my art I shifted position to take another shot. This was too much for ASBO, my clumsy shuffling and messing about with clicking cameras had gone too far, how dare I overstep the bounds of my lowly status and wake her from dreams of lovely carnage and chaos. She treated me to a look into which she poured every aggressive ounce of the disdain she feels for such... paparazzi!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.