Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Corvid

Corvidae is a family of birds that contains crows, ravens, rooks, jackdaws, jays, magpies, nutcrackers and others.  I didn't know they were all related until I googled. I saw about 30 crows hanging out together in the park as I rode through on my bike today.  I took lots of pictures of the whole flock (actually called a murder) but I liked this one the best.

It was supposed to be a lot warmer than it turned out to be this afternoon.  When I left on my ride I was wearing a light long sleeved shirt and a fleece vest and my bike shorts.  I'm glad I went back for a windbreaker!  It was about 62 F and the sun was shining so I was comfortable until the sun went behind a big cloud and the temperature dropped.  I wasn't freezing but I definitely should have dressed a little warmer.  I rode about half my usual distance and didn't make too many photo stops but it was still good to get out.  It was 56 F when I got home.  

I am grateful that I wasn't too far from home when I started getting cold.  I learned my lesson without being too uncomfortable. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.