The Mushroom Path

I spend quite a bit of time wandering through "the policies" and if it is dry, I might even do some maintenance work in the garden. However, everything is either sodden or frozen just now.

I often marvel at how plants appear to move. Some disappear from year to year and some make a debut.

Just like this mushroom path. This is a small section of a group that has now stretched out for about 10 metres or so. None have been nibbled and I am inclined to leave them alone.

Tonight I was invited to a Rotary meeting at one of the local golf clubs; Scotscraig which is also the 13th Oldest. See extra.

I had been President of the Club ten years ago, and although no longer a member, I still give them a talk on various subjects to entertain them after the meal.

I was invited to hear tonight’s speaker, a Doctor Paul Miller, who had been researching the Sharp Family and their influence on the game of golf. 

Frederick Sharp, of Hill of Tarvit, had some influence, and of course Hill of Tarvit has its own golf course; Kingarrock.

However, it is Frederick’s brother William who was the member of the family who had the most influence on the game.

Paul and I chatted over the meal and he generously offered me access to his research. He gave an extraordinarily interesting presentation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.