Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Other Worldly

After a lovely evening spent with Carolyn and her "London Family", who were kind enough to give me a bed for the night, I set off on foot to the nearest station, to catch the train into Waterloo.
By 9am I was walking along the South Bank enjoying the city sights.
First stop the Millennium Bridge with the view of St Pauls followed by a much needed cuppa in Borough Market. 
On to City Hall and a short detour to take some shots of the intriguing interior, before crossing Tower Bridge and walking up and into the city proper.
Here I spent over an hour taking many images of the futuristic buildings, always a fascination to me. My blip is a portion of The Lloyds Building.
 From here I walked back to St Pauls. By now my feet were aching so I got on a bus to St James Park. 
Another hour or so enjoying the wildlife in park before walking into Piccadilly, up Regents Street and into the madness that is known as Oxford Street.
My day in London started to take its toll so I headed to Waterloo a couple of hours before my train was due to leave at 7.20pm
Treating myself to a very rare vino, I noticed that quite a few trains were being cancelled. By 7pm the station was bursting with people all watching as their trains were delayed or cancelled, mine included :-0
Apparently there were a couple of major signalling issues, one in Vauxhall, so trains to the West Country were starting and terminating in Basingstoke!
Thus ensued a mad rush to get on the next available train to bloody Basingstoke.
Amazingly I got a seat but there was no guard available so we all just sat there for ages....
Eventually we're off and get to bloody Basingstoke an hour and a half later, only to be told that the train to Exeter had only just arrived in Waterloo.
WTF! (sorry but it was very frustrating) I thought that all West Country trains were starting and terminating in bloody Bas.....???
So, now half the population of Exeter is on Platform 2 at B.B and not being told anything.
Tempers started to be lost, both by members of the public but, most notably, by SWT or is it, SWR? employees. 
The next pearl of wisdom shared by the staff ,was that we all had to get on the next train to Salisbury. Our only hope of getting home apparently but 'they' couldn't guarantee it.
Train arrived already pretty full but we all managed to get on. Actually, I don't know if 'we' all got on as I had no view from the cramped position I found myself in, in carriage 8 of 8.
Salisbury. By now it is gone 11pm and raining. 
Hurrah! Taxis had been ordered and would take us to Exeter St Davids.
I'm in the first group to be despatched. Google maps suggested that the journey should take 90 minutes.
Google maps had obviously not been told about the A303 closure !!!
I was roused from my slumbering in the back seat when I recognised  that we had just passed the same point on the route as we had 35 minutes earlier. WTF! (sorry )
On and on,   and on and on we went. Down B roads, into small villages, in to places I never knew existed.
I got back to Exeter at 1.30 AM.

I am never going anywhere on a train again!!


All the above explains why this is a Back Blip...
Hopefully I will catch up with you all tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.